FILM: LUCA SPREAFICO PRESENTS ALEX – a journey into the human psyche

The film is a dive into the human psyche in which the dancer and protagonist Silvia Bonavigo uses dance and movement as tools to process traumas and insecurities.

Exploring the more narrative soul of fashion film while staying true to the genre’s strong focus on aesthetics, Alex tells us of a woman reliving and working through a trauma. Inspired by EMDR therapy, the film looks at abandonment during childhood as something that is likely to accompany us into adulthood. Through an experimental, movement-led approach, Alex takes us on a journey into the human psyche.

From the music composition and fashion design to the photography and choice of location, everything about Alex is thought up to recreate a dreamlike scenario. Shot in a historical villa in the Lombard region of Italy, the film employs dance as a release tool to work through one’s traumas. Lead character and dancer Silvia Bonavigo thus challenges her fears by interacting with the space around her through a series of choreographed movements. A collaboration with Italian label Kappe by Federica Bonifaci, the iconic capes of the mono product brand were selected to emphasise and complement the wearer’s gestures.

Breaking away from pre-established video genres, Alex finds itself at a crossroad between fashion film, short film and dance video. The film is a personal project and the director’s first narrative work. Commenting on the production, Spreafico states: “Alex has been in the pipeline for quite some time. It’s a project that has helped me to experiment with a different format and move closer to the content I want to create in the future as a director and photographer”.

Alex has been selected by more than 25 international festivals, with 10 nominations and 5 wins including Best Actress at A Shaded View on Fashion Film, Best International Fashion Film at Buenos Aires Fashion Film Festival and Best Performance at Canadian Fashion Film Festival. 

Credits

Director: Luca Spreafico ( @lucasprea )

Writer: Luca Spreafico ( @lucasprea )

Cast: Silvia Bonavigo ( @silvisis ), Eugenia Caruso ( @eugeniacaruso ), Alessandra Sbordoni

Director of Photography: Alessandro Ubaldi ( @ubaldi.alessandro )

Editing and VFX: Federica Intelisano ( @federica.intelisano )

Colour Grading: Daniel Palluca ( @daniel_pallucca_colorist )

Production: The Blink Fish ( @theblinkfish )

Executive Producer: Lorenzo Majno

Line Producer: Marco Agensi 

Production Manager: Natalia Troni

1AD: Niccolò di Guida  ( @niccolodiguida )

Camera Assistant: Andrea Pedrinelli

Steadycam: Armando Avallone ( @armandoavallone )

VTR: Francesco Rosiglioni ( @francescorosiglioni )

Electrician: Luca Pardini ( l.pardox )

Gaffer: Valerio Vigo

Set Designer: Gabriele Cavalchi ( @gabrielecavalchi

Art Assistant: Marco Orlando

Prop Master: Mattia Venturelli

Stylist: Federica Bonifaci ( @federicabonifaci )

Choreographer: Olivia Lucchini ( @ollirules )

Make-up: Maria Carlini ( @mariacarlini.mua )

Composer: Riccardo Amorese 

Sound Recording and Sound Design: Edoardo Bianchi

Production Assistants: Lora Brugioli ( @lorabrugioli ), Koen Revet ( @koenrevet.it ), Claudia Romano, Nikki de Macker

bio


Luca Spreafico is a Milan-based film director and photographer. Born in 1980, over the past ten years he has focused on developing a contemporary and distinctive aesthetic by working with a range of international fashion brands. Attention to detail, creativity, passion and appreciation for all things beautiful define his photography and video work – whether commercial or personal. 

lucasprea.com